Weekend Trip to Half Price Books

Used book stores are a danger. I walk in looking for one specific book…and I walk out with all sorts of new friends. I went to the Half Price Books on Saturday with the intention of picking up Ernest Hemmingway’s The Sun Also Rises (next book club read). They had only one Hemmingway and it wasn’t that one. (Who is hoarding all the Hemmingways?)

So I started looking for some other books on the book club list, but I didn’t find any of them either. And then I ever so accidentally wandered into the young adult section. Danger! I bought the hardcover Hunger Games (I had originally borrowed it from the library but bought Catching Fire and Mockingjay when they released soI needed it to complete my hardcover set). And then, since I’m getting married next month, (and I have six bridesmaids) I saw this glorious picture with the set of Harry Potter books. But my collection is incomplete. I only had books 5-7 because my sister and I shared 1-4 and she kept them. So Half Price Books provided me with books 2 and 3. (Still in need of 1 and 4!)

a+b-13 copy

(Photo taken from Capital Romance)

But wait!! I did buy two books that I haven’t read yet. I picked up books 1 and 3 (I meant to get 2!) of the Mortal Instruments series (City of Bones and City of Glass) that my friend Carly recommended. And the lady who checked me and my pile of young adult fiction out at Half Price Books non-sarcastically (seriously) told me they were really good too. So those are at the top of my to-read pile. Now back to the original task of finding that Hemmingway!

*Note: I brought home Hunger Games to put with my other two, and I couldn’t find them. And then I remembered that my dad borrowed them from me because he wanted to read them. So I guess I’m not going to grow out of the young adult book phase any time soon! :)

3 Comments

Filed under Book Stores

3 responses to “Weekend Trip to Half Price Books

  1. thanks for sharing my picture :) i am actually the bride in the shot (and obvi a huge harry potter fan) if you end up taking the picture with your bridesmaids too – PLEASE send me a copy. i’d love to share on the blog :)

    bree [capitolromance]

  2. Bree, so nice to hear from you! I will definitely send you a copy if we end up taking the photo! I was totally opposed to staged pictures until I saw this one (Pinterest I think), and I was sold. All of my bridesmaids love Harry Potter too (some even more than I do) so I thought it would be a group shot that everyone would enjoy!

Leave a Reply

